((This is a creative response to the poem “Mother And Daughter, A Translation” by poet Kapka Kassabova. The original concept of the poem shows snippets of dialogue followed by the subtext behind them and I followed this concept in my own response. As an addition, I did use the title “translation” to also be a play on the word “transgender” because really, who doesn’t love a play on words.))


Mother And Son, A Translation

She says, “I like your hair when it is ginger.”

Which means, you fit in a way that fit with the way that I view.

She says “I don’t like your hair when it is blue.”

Which means, I like you best when I have control over you.

She says “I don’t like your hair when it is purple.”

Which means, I like you best when you hate you.

She says “Let me re-dye it for you.”

Which means, you will always be my daughter no matter what you go through.

